View this email on our website
Carl Fischer Music
Media Contact: Elizabeth Holub
Tel: (212) 777-0900 x230
Fax: (212) 477-6996
For Immediate Release August 30, 2016
Mikrokosmos - 153 Progressive Piano Pieces, Sz. 107
Bartok Mikrokosmos

New York, NY – Carl Fischer Music releases the first volume of Nicholas Hopkins’ edition of Béla Bartók’s Mikrokosmos.

Mikrokosmos (PL1048 – Score – $8.99), Béla Bartók's major contribution to piano pedagogy, was originally intended as a series of studies for his son, similar to those J.S. Bach and Leopold Mozart wrote for their own children. A cornerstone of piano pedagogy today, this series of 153 pieces (published in six volumes) offers a more modern and challenging approach than most beginner books. The works evolve in progressive order, developing technique and musicianship hand-in-hand. Newly engraved and edited, this clear and easy-to-read edition contains an introduction and teaching suggestions to help guide the student through the idiosyncrasies of the exercises. A wonderful introduction not only to piano technique but to the aesthetic style of the composer as well, Mikrokosmos is a perfect modern primer for piano students.

In Bartók’s own words, "The Mikrokosmos is a cycle of 153 pieces for piano written with a didactical purpose, that is…piano pieces which can be used from the very beginning and then going on. It is graded according to difficulty, and the word…Mikrokosmos may be interpreted as a series of pieces in all of different styles that represent a small world. Or, it may be interpreted as a world, a musical world for the little ones, for the children."

Mikrokosmos – 153 Progressive Piano Pieces, Sz. 107 is available now through Carl Fischer Music or your favorite music retailer.

Nicholas Hopkins studied at the University of Rhode Island and the New England Conservatory of Music in Boston. His interests were piqued by an electronic music studio at the conservatory leading to his pursuit of digital sound synthesis at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. After spending a few years at The Royal Conservatory in The Hague, the Netherlands, Hopkins began his professional career in music engraving in his doctoral program at Stanford University.

Having completed his doctoral work, Hopkins relocated to Florence, Italy to serve as musical assistant to Luciano Berio and to subsequently engrave for publishing firms Universal Edition of Vienna and Ricordi of Milan. He would later bring his experience back to the United States when he accepted his current position as Managing Editor for Carl Fischer Music. Since that time, he has produced hundreds of titles and has expressed special pride in Glenn Gould’s Goldberg Variations, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s Practical Manual of Harmony, Elliott Carter’s Harmony Book, and a performance edition of Anton Webern’s Fünf Schubert Lieder.

Carl Fischer Music has been the leader in providing the highest quality educational music since 1872. Visit to order products or to find a retailer near you. For review copies of this publication, please contact Elizabeth Holub at (212) 777-0900, ext. 230 or send an e-mail to

Click here for a larger cover image (JPG)

Click here for sample pages (PDF)

# # #
Carl Fischer Music – 48 Wall Street, 28th Floor, New York, NY 10005
Media Contact: Elizabeth Holub (212) 777-0900 x 230
Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterBrowse scores onlineSee us on InstagramCarl Fischer YouTube Channel