Media Contact: Elizabeth Holub
Tel: (212) 777-0900 x230
Fax: (212) 477-6996
For Immediate Release September 3, 2014
New Engraving of Sousa March Collection
with Full Conductor’s Score
John Philip Sousa March Collection

New York, NY — Carl Fischer Music announces the release of John Philip Sousa March Collection (JB100 – Full Score - $34.99; Separate Parts - $6.99) in standard book format, featuring the first publication of a full conductor’s score of all marches. This collection includes 16 of Sousa’s greatest marches, originally published by Carl Fischer Music between 1886 and 1894.

Carl Fischer Music has always been the pre-eminent publisher of "the March King." In order to maintain the integrity of the original works, there are no added or changed articulations, changed instrumentations, or rescored parts. The only changes made from the original are intended to clarify errors and remove inconsistencies. Such inconsistencies in dynamics, hairpin placements, and articulations were due to the original method of copying parts one at a time. These markings were unified during the re-engraving process to ensure the highest quality honoring the original intentions of the composer.

In the book’s foreword, Carl Fischer Editor-in-Chief Larry Clark notes "It was our goal to present these marches as close to his originals as possible....This was very important to the integrity of these gems of the band repertoire."

This collection is intended for all bands, and contains rousing tunes including Washington Post, Semper Fidelis, The Thunderer, and many others.

John Philip Sousa March Collection, full score and parts, are available now through Carl Fischer Music, or your favorite music retailer.

John Philip Sousa is one of the most beloved American composers. He began studying music when he was just six years old, playing the flute, cornet, violin, and several other instruments. When he was 13, his father enlisted him as an apprentice with the Marine Band, where he remained until he was 20. In his lifetime, Sousa composed over 100 marches, of which the selections in John Philip Sousa March Collection are his most famous.

Carl Fischer Music has been the leader in providing the highest quality educational music since 1872. For more information about new publications from Carl Fischer Music, or to locate a dealer near you, log on to or e-mail For review copies of these publications, contact Elizabeth Holub at (212) 777-0900 ext. 230 or send an e-mail to

Click the cover image above to download a larger version (JPG)

Click here to view sample pages of the score (PDF)

# # #

Carl Fischer Music – 48 Wall Street, 28th Floor, New York, NY 10005
Media Contact: Elizabeth Holub (212) 777-0900 x 230