New Releases from Carl Fischer Music & Affiliates
View this email online
Carl Fischer Music
newsnotes december 2018
Download ALL (.zip file, 232MB)
•   cover images
•   sample pages
•   and SKU information
for this month's new releases
brass   |   string   |   piano   |   choral
Arban Tuba Method
Complete Conservatory Method for Tuba
By Jean Baptiste Arban
Edited by Mike W. Roylance

Carl Fischer Music
O5553  –  Score  –  $29.99
See sample pages (PDF)

Carl Fischer is proud to present Arban’s Complete Conservatory Method for Tuba, a comprehensive system of study that was developed for trumpet over a century ago, now engraved and edited for tuba by Mike W. Roylance. Purists and modernists alike will welcome this new edition as a staple in their library with its time-tested pedagogical sequence and a fresh new layout for easier reading.
By Stanley Curtis
On a poem by Donald Hall
Soprano, Trumpet, and Piano

Balquhidder Music
BQ199  –  Score and Part  –  $34.99
See sample pages (PDF)

listen at SoundcloudAdvent is one in a series of compositions that were inspired by stained glass windows at the composer's church. The particular window that contained images of the Crucifixion brought Curtis to compose three stanzas on text of the same title by Poet Laureate Donald Hall. Each stanza also features three variations, so the originally stated melody undergoes a total of nine iterations. Following a twenty year career with the U.S. Navy Band and a teaching position at George Mason University, Curtis is currently a Special Assistant Professor of Music at Colorado State University.
back to top
Ricercare Plus
By Paul Lansky
String Quartet

Carl Fischer Music
BE16  –  Score and Parts  –  $28.99
BE16F  –  Score only  –  $13.99
See sample pages (PDF)

Ricercare Plus for string quartet was written in 2000 by Paul Lansky for the Brentano Quartet during their residency at Princeton University. With rapid and florid counterpoint, harmonic nods to the fifteenth century, and a ground-bass section reminiscent of early Baroque music, this work is perfect for programs bridging the traditional and the modern.

"Lansky's fine ear for harmony and his restless and energetic rhythmic sense carry over from much of his computer music, but in these works, there is a newly found subtlety that seems inspiring to the interpreters heard in these performances. ...Lansky's Ricercare Plus includes references to early baroque and late renaissance part writing with non-vibrato sustained, overlapping lines, and rapid contrapuntal configurations." (liner notes, Paul Lansky: Etudes and parodies, Bridge Records 9222) For advanced performers. Dur.: approx. 18'

Brentano String Quartet on YouTube
I. Prelude
II. Ricercare
Serena Canin (vln.), Mark Steinberg (vln.), Misha Amory (vla.), Nina Lee (vcl.)

back to top
Mikrokosmos, Volume 3
153 Progressive Piano Pieces, Sz. 107,
Volume 3: Nos. 67-96

By Béla Bartók
Edited by Nicholas Hopkins

Carl Fischer Music
PL1057  –  Score  –  $11.99
See sample pages (PDF)

Mikrokosmos is a modern and challenging introduction to piano technique and to Bartok’s aesthetic composing style. The series develops technique and musicianship hand-in-hand. Engraved and edited by Nicholas Hopkins, this third installment in the series presents a clear and easy-to-read method with an introduction and teaching suggestions to help guide students through each exercise. This edition is not offered for sale within the U.S.A.
back to top
The Mystic Trumpeter
The Mystic Trumpeter
By Howard Hanson
SATB Chorus and Piano

Carl Fischer Music
O4822  –  Octavo  –  $3.75
See sample pages (PDF)

Commissioned by the School of Music of the University of Missouri in Kansas City, Howard Hansonís The Mystic Trumpeter is a dynamic work for Narrator, Chorus, and Orchestra on the poem of the same name by Walt Whitman. The Whitman text is alternately declaimed by the Narrator or sung by the chorus, with the orchestra serving to heighten the drama. The work is thematically sprawling, yet tightly interwoven, as it explores thematic interrelations with images of love, nature, feudalism, and war. It reaches its highest point at its end, foretelling the rebirth of society out of its bondage to war and into the joy of peace. Scored for Narrator; SATB chorus; 3(Picc.) 3(E.H.) 2 3(Cbsn.) - 4 3 3 1; Timp. Perc. Pno. Hp. Str; Performance materials are available on rental.
back to top
Carl Fischer Music
Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterSee us on InstagramCarl Fischer YouTube Channel